On PUAs, Mind Control, and Patriarchy: Why I Started This Blog (Introduction)

Shall I say, I have gone at dusk through narrow streets

And watched the smoke that rises from the pipes

Of lonely men in shirt-sleeves, leaning out of windows?…

 

I should have been a pair of ragged claws

Scuttling across the floors of silent seas.

 

And the afternoon, the evening, sleeps so peacefully! 

Smoothed by long fingers,

Asleep…tired…or it malingers,

Stretched on the floor, here beside you and me.

Should I, after tea and cakes and ices,

Have the strength to force the moment to its crisis?

But though I have wept and fasted, wept and prayed,

Though I have seen my head [grown slightly bald] brought in upon a platter,

I am no prophet–and here’s no great matter;

I have seen the moment of my greatness flicker,

And I have seen the eternal Footman hold my coat, and snicker,

And in short, I was afraid.

 

“The Love-Song of J. Alfred Prufrock,”

T.S. Eliot

This blog is dedicated to all those who are terrified of being enslaved and who fear manipulation by those who have no good motive in mind.  Just remember, courage is not the absence of fear.  Courage is action in the very face of fear.

*************************************

We live in a world where one can be kidnapped and forced into sexual slavery by virtue of what is between one’s legs or by virtue of chromosomal makeup.  We live in a world where at one point there was a country, Afghanistan, where half the population was denied medical care and education by virtue of gender.  We live in a world where one area on earth (Serbia) in the 1990s decided to have rape camps dedicated to impregnating the opposing  population’s gender (Albanian and Croat women) in order to subjugate it.  We live in a world where a “father” (Alec Baldwin) can viciously eviscerate his pre-teen daughter with a voice message, utilizing a certain kind of cruelty that should only be reserved for pedophiles, war criminals, and serial rapists/murderers–and yet in the next day or so he offers an “explanation” that’s bought hook, line, and sinker by the media, and in the meanwhile tells an adoring public that he’s going to  help out “fathers” suffering from “parental alienation syndrome.”  He is defended by no less a character than Rosie O’Donnell, who is supposedly what the media considers a feminist icon

People, what’s wrong with this picture?

How can people in the year 2007 still, after nearly 40 years of feminist activism (including other countries!) commit this egegious oppression of women?

I can think of only one real reason.  Hang onto your hats, because this is scary.

Mind control

Yup, you heard me. 

Mind control.  Brainwashing.  Indoctrination.  Subliminal persuasion on a personal and/or political level, if you care to be more politic and circumspect about describing the hijacking of people’s mental processes.  There are many manifestations of mind control, and the New Patriarchy appears to be harnessing quite a bit of them–unconsciously–to achieve its own objectives, which is the reenslavement of women.  It isn’t just happening in the Western world, either:  an excellent case can be made that its primary manifestations are occuring in non-Western areas, although I don’t necessarily buy that, either.

It’s not paranoia if it really is the truth.

Allow me to explain how I reached this dark and eldritch conclusion. 

[DISCLAIMER]:  I’m not claiming, or even believing, that there is a vast, organized, conscious conspiracy to bring legal patriarchy back to the Western World.  What I am claiming is that patriarchal attitudes are making a huge comeback, and that certain people are applying mind-control methods as an application and an enforcement/reinforcement of those patriarchal attitudes–on the personal level, which means it’s automatically political.  The patriarchal attitudes are making a huge comeback because of the increasing physical uncertainty and danger of the world we’re living in, and also because the media and religio-political complex has really been doing their best to bring about its re-emergence.  The media–because it sells to a population of disenchanted, frightened people desperately clinging to or bringing back outmoded and destructive gender roles for a need for personal security in a world where citizens are being systematically disempowered within their own “democracies.”  The religio-political complex (Western and non-Western)–because of religious convictions, fear, uncertainty, and opportunity.  Put simply, people, we Westerners have become so conditioned and indoctrinated from the media, the religio-political complex, and other sources that we now think it’s OK to indoctrinate, brainwash, and mind- and behaviorally-control other people.  One of the premier arenas where this is playing out is the pick-up-artist (PUA) community and *its* behaviors, methodologies, and ideologies.

***********************************************

I was roaming the Net because I was looking for some information to safeguard myself against PUAs.  (PUAism has become something of a cottage industry, where men are taught to control and manipulate women through verbal and non-verbal means–sometimes for romance, more often than not for sex.  Most PUAs believe that in order to attract women and to “get” them, the male has to be the Alpha Male–i.e., the dominator of the situation and the woman he’s trying to attract.  Needless to say, this mindset is ALL about patriarchy.)  I stumbled onto a feminist blog where the blogger, Thinking Girl, had posted a link to an article describing PUAs in action, and had added her own feminist commentary on the situation.  Needless to say, she was horrified and disgusted–and rightfully so!  I will post the link here:

 http://thinkinggirl.wordpress.com/2007/01/29/professional-pick-up-artists-run-woman-tricking-business-to-help-guys-get-laid

After reading this article and post, be certain to click on the “Comments” section.

My advice is to read this entire thread from beginning to end when you get the chance.  You will witness, firsthand, what kicked me into action on *this* blog.

This link changed my life.  For the first time, I saw a feminist doing actual battle with PUAism.  I read through the thread, and I was horrified at the amount of flak she was getting from PUAs who slagging her, sneering at her and the other women on the thread, playing their stupid word games, and generally trying to spread their nasty little philosophy all over the thread.  I got disgusted…and I got coldly enraged.  You see, I have memories of my own…and I’m tired of predators getting away with garbage.  I made my first post on the thread based on my own experiences; it’s dated March 27th of 2007, here’s a portion of it: 

 

First off, I would like to enter this discussion by thanking you greatly for blogging on this little-talked-about yet very cruel phenomenon of pick-up-artistry and how it burns women within a patriarchal context. I myself have been preyed on by pick-up-artists and players, and the experience was mind and heart-shattering. I almost suicided once because I made the mistake of falling in love with someone who was out to get women to fall in love with him, just to shatter their hearts. Words fail in expressing the depth of his lack of conscience and callousness. After getting severely burned, I started going to a website that he had talked about–a website that his buddy was running. I found out that his friend had advertised his predator friend’s exploits in emotionally hacking women to pieces. Weirdly, the website seemed to alternate between trying to shame and embarass the predator into good behavior and patting him on the back and winking at him. I was horrified–quite possibly more at the ambiguity and the fence-straddling than I would have been at an honestly misogynist position.

I’m not going to go into great details of the giant mind game; as it is, I’m sure some butthead will argue or think that I deserved what I got. If there is such a person here, I only wish it were humanly possible for people to access others’ memories; you would be able to see how often I kept visualizing my hand going around a .45 or a shotgun to put in my mouth and my finger or toe pulling the trigger, or getting on the roof of the tallest building in town and throwing myself off, watching my own body cartwheel around and around just before it hit the pavement…You would have seen the looks of consternation and horror on the face of my therapists when I would break down and shriek in therapy…And you would have seen the anguish of my supervisor and friends as they tried to pull me from the grave. Even now I’m starting to weep, because I can feel that black maelstrom trying to suck me down even now. Not all women use “ineffectual” methods to attempt suicide; I got myself immediately into therapy when I started having the ideation because I knew that if I attempted suicide, I would have succeeded. If anyone thinks patriarchy is harmless or doesn’t exist, they haven’t checked the body count, female *and* male–or they just want to look the other way. Thinking Girl, I want to thank you for having the guts to stick to your guns. If the pick-up-artist men don’t like it, they should stay off the blog then. If people don’t think feminism has a valid premise–if they really don’t think men oppress women and want to hide from that ugly, nasty truth–then they should quit trying to crash discussions by feminists and leave us the hell alone! Feminist viewpoints are increasingly demonized and silenced throughout mainstream society, a society that paradoxically accuses us of enforcing censorship! I don’t see feminist viewpoints represented on the “PUA” websites. Why should we coddle them? We owe you *nothing.*

 

(I am in the process of figuring out that I’ve been burned by at least one PUA and by another individual who was either a PUA or a “cyber-like” phone predator who meets women over phone chatlines.)

 And I wasn’t done.  In the same post, after pointing out something to one of the moral and ethical posters, I had *this* to say to the thread at large:

People:
I’ve gone to the pick-up-artist websites, and I’ve started to educate/harden myself against these tactics. Best yet, I’m choosing to remain celibate until I get married; and you better well believe that any man I get involved with had *better* be a genuinely nice guy–or he gets shown the door. Period, stop, end of discussion. At 44 years of age, I’ve been preyed on by the best–and I’m thoroughly, absolutely, sickeningly fed up and enraged about having the hard truths of my experiences denied, shrugged off, dismissed, rationalized away, or minimized. Patriarchy fucking sucks. There is one hell of a lot of a sense of male entitlement to predation out there, and quite frankly it is starting to get me truly volcanically angry. I’m not the only woman who’s getting ferociously fed up, and believe you me, there is a backlash brewing that will make the late 60s-70s look like paradise for chauvinists. What galls me is that many men don’t grasp the fact that the same entitlement mentality that makes it “OK” for them to lie to women for sexual purposes is precisely the same mentality that fueled Serbian rape camps under Milosevic and fueled the Taliban denial of basic medical care to women in Afghanistan. The entitlement mentality is this: a) I’m a man, and therefore it’s my destiny (manifest, biological, religious–pick your rationalization) to control and to *be* in control of others and situations, and therefore b) as a man, I’m entitled to control women by any means necessary–deceptive or violent, and c) “you women” had better go along with the program, because d) deep down inside, that’s “really what you want, isn’t it”?…

Well, I’m telling it on the mountain, and I’m shouting it from the rooftops–this isn’t what *I* fucking want, and I’d *RATHER DIE* than than give any man control over me ever again, simply because of what his genes are and what’s between his legs. To borrow the JDL slogan, “Never Again.” And I *know* I’m not the only woman out there who feels the same way. And kudos to you, Thinking Girl, for having the spine and the guts to stand up and resist.

I meant what I said, *then*; I mean what I say, *now*.   Watching the PUAs trying to mentally gang-rape the thread turned me into a dedicated enemy of PUAism.  It was then that I realized that the New Patriarchy was and is emerging–and that I owed it to our daughters and our daughters’ daughters and every future generation of women on earth to fight this mind-control monstrosity.  Because that’s what it is:  mind and behavioral control taught on the personal level.  Generations of media, mass marketing, advertising, and mind-manipulation by the government and ruling elites has finally brought mind control out of the shadows and into the personal lives of many average Western people.  Also, if you closely read the above-linked thread on Thinking Girl’s blog, you will see that at one point us feminists made the connection that PUAism and Men’s Rights Actists (MRAs) are closely–although not always–linked.  Therefore, to study PUAism will have definite implications for the combatting of the New Patriarchy.  

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “On PUAs, Mind Control, and Patriarchy: Why I Started This Blog (Introduction)

  1. Hey Scarred, you finally got a blog!!! I’m going to add you to my bloglines 🙂 And you quoted Eliot…

  2. scarred2062

    You betcha, Brain!:) I thought Eliot was most appropriate…my favorite poet, and he had a *lot* to say about the male psyche.:)

    I’m so glad you’re here.:) We’ll have fun here, you and I…:)

  3. Brilliant, naturally….and linked-to from muttering now. Since I’m not blogging these days, I’ll just wish whatever traffic I may get over your way 😉

  4. Jay C.M.

    Scarred, issuing a warning to Jay C.M. Uh, if you think your commentary on my supposed mindset was welcome, accurate, or helpful, you’re shit outta luck here. You need to work on yourself instead of coming to someone else’s blog to psychoanalyze them. What you did was the equivalent of walking into someone’s house and taking a dump on the living room carpet, all in the name of “trying to be helpful.”

    If you really think I’m going to give much of a tinker’s damn about how PU isn’t “really” manipulative, this is also a serious delusion. Go back and read my blog again **very carefully.** And if you still have issues with what I’m doing, well, too bad, so sad; this ain’t the blog for you then, now is it? If you want me to let your posts through, take your presumptions and your privilege and check them at the door. Otherwise, don’t bother to post, because I won’t allow your comments.

Leave a Reply

