Condolences and Prayers for Healing and Safety for the People of the U.K.–and an Allegorical Prophecy

In light of the recent terror attempts in London and Glasgow, and also because I have **two** friends from the U.K., I want to offer my condolences and prayers for the healing, well-being, and safety of the people of the Old Country.  My prayers are with you all, and I hope with all my heart that there can be a way to achieve peace and security for all on Earth in our lifetimes. 

I was led by the Holy Spirit to “randomly” pick these verses from the Old Testament as–prayer or prophecy?  I’ll let you decide.  But this is the word of the Lord for this post today regarding this issue:

“‘As the LORD your God lives,’ she answered, [the Widow of Zarephath for whom Elijah the prophet worked a miracle]  ‘I have nothing baked; there is only a handful of flour in my jar and a little oil in my jug.  Just now I was collecting a couple of sticks, to go in and prepare something for myself and my son; when we have eaten it, we shall die.’  ‘Do not be afraid,’ Elijah said to her.  ‘Go and do as you propose.  But first make me a little cake and bring it to me.  Then you can prepare something for yourself and your son.  For the LORD, the God of Israel, says, ‘The jar of flour shall not go empty, nor the jug of oil run dry, until the day when the LORD sends rain upon the earth.’  She left and did as Elijah had said.  She was able to eat for a year, and he and her son as well; the jar of flour did not go empty, nor the jug of oil run dry, as the LORD had foretold through Elijah.  Sometime later the son of the mistress of the house fell sick, and his sickness grew more severe until he stopped breathing.  So she said to Elijah, ‘Why have you done this to me, O man of God?  Have you come to me to call attention to my guilt and to kill my son?’  ‘Give me your son,’ Elijah said to her.  Taking him from her lap, he carried him to the upper room where he was staying, and laid him on his own bed.  He called out to the LORD:  ‘Oh LORD, my God, will you afflict even the widow with whom I am staying by killing her son?’  Then he stretched himself out upon the child three times and called out to the LORD:  ‘Oh LORD, my God, let the life breath return to the body of this child.’  The LORD heard the prayer of Elijah; the life breath returned to the child’s body and he revived.  Taking the child, Elijah brought him down into the house from the upper room and gave him to his mother.  ‘See!’  Elijah said to her, ‘Your son is alive.’[emphasis mine]             (Scriptural passage is 1 Kings Chapter 17, verses 12-23, New American Bible.) 

I don’t really understand myself why I was led to put in these Bible verses in this post.  My own feeling is that it is a message from the Lord, but I’m going to let the readers decide for themselves what it means.  My own feeling, though, is that this is an allegorical prophecy for the Western world, or for Britain and Scotland–or both.  The Widow of Zaraphath can be said to be the U.K.; the dead son could be said to be the feeling of security and well-being that died with the advent of Islamofascist terrorism.  The drought can be said to represent the lack of common sense and morality as evidenced by the Bush/Blair regimes.  Elijah the prophet can be said to represent the presence of God who is with the people of the Old Country and the West in general.  The oil and flour that miraculously self-replenish for an entire year is the sustenance that God gives us all, even when we’re not aware of it–although in this case (cake?), it may mean something else.  More than anything, however, what God is trying to tell you, dear reader, is that just when you think God has abandoned or chastised you, it is then that Our Father-Mother is with you the most.

It is not for me to know the meaning of this prophecy; I feel a bit weird putting it out on the Net.  Nonetheless, I was pulled strongly to put this on my blog, and as a Christian I’m bound to obey God above all else.  The meaning of this allegorical prophecy will show itself over time.   Just know that God loves you, dear readers, and that no trial lasts forever.

Yours in Christ, 

Scarred the Feminist Pit Bull, who is occasionally God’s servant when I put aside my cowardice and do what He wants me to.   

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Condolences and Prayers for Healing and Safety for the People of the U.K.–and an Allegorical Prophecy

  1. Hiya,
    Hmmm… the resurrection of the dead in Christ and the coming of Elijah… I believe that is why the Holy Spirit chose those verses.

    my blog is all about Elijah

    http://heartdaughter.com/blogs/elijah/

    nada
    God Bless you!

  2. Ive been to that airport four times in the last year, so its bizzare to see something like that happen.

    This was the first weekend of CHILDRENS school summer holidays, the airport was packed with mums, dads, and thier wee bairns going for a nice bit of holiday.

    Probably got themselves into debt just so that they can take thier kids for 2 weeks to some resort in spain, and them taking thier maximum holidays for the year so that they can do this. This is the kind of demographic we are talking about..

    These chaps should be tried according to the shariah if you ask me.

  3. Scarred the Feminist Pit Bull

    “Probably got themselves into debt just so that they can take thier kids for 2 weeks to some resort in spain, and them taking thier maximum holidays for the year so that they can do this. This is the kind of demographic we are talking about..”

    That’s scary…and sad. How can delibrately killing children further their cause?

    I don’t fault the U.K. Muslims for being angry with the Blair/Bush presence in Iraq. I don’t fault them **at all** for that. BUT, we live in societies where if we **don’t like** what our government is doing, we have the option of organizing and voting the administrations out. (Although I grant that voter fraud in the U.S. in the 2000 and 2004 elections has raised some serious questions as to the feasibility of this in America–my gut hunch, still, is that this only worked because the margins were so slim that they could be played with.) But when people use violent terrorism, all this does is endanger the democracy that they’re trying to change and run the risk of helping fascism bloom in the nation they’re attacking.

    “These chaps should be tried according to the shariah if you ask me.”

    What *does* shariah law prescribe for this type of crime? I’m not familiar with it, and the readers might find it enlightening. Would it be a type of death penalty?

Leave a Reply

